Latest News

22nd - Jul

SMA calls for nominations of physician, resident and student leaders for 2020 awards

The Saskatchewan Medical Association (SMA) is calling for nominations for the 2020 SMA Leadership Awards. These awards were launched in 2019 to underscore the importance of leadership in medicine and to celebrate and recognize a student, resident and a practising physician in Saskatchewan who exemplifies this quality in either their professional or personal lives.

“Physician leadership is more important than ever as the world’s medical community takes on the COVID-19 pandemic,” says Dr. Barb Konstantynowicz, SMA president. “We’ve seen physicians rise to the occasion at all levels of Saskatchewan’s health system in response to this crisis. From the public health officials guiding us forward, to the physicians in hospitals working around the clock to prepare for the worst while hoping for the best, to family doctors who adapted overnight to new modes of providing care so their patients would be looked after – their efforts are truly remarkable.

“We’ve seen physicians step into different roles and even come out of retirement so they can serve wherever they are needed. We’ve seen medical students volunteer in whatever capacity they can while their education was put on hold. I am inspired by the leadership I see every day and I look forward to recognizing it formally.”

Submission deadline is Sept. 18, 2020.

The 2019 winners of the inaugural SMA Leadership Awards were three dynamic women leaders in Saskatchewan’s medical community: physician, Dr. Julie Kryzanowski; former resident, Dr. Jessica Harris; and former student, Dr. Jacqueline Carverhill. To read more about their notable work, please visit our website.

Find out more about the SMA Leadership Awards at the links below and nominate a colleague whose work stands out. Please submit your nomination by Sept. 18, 2020. Categories for the SMA Leadership Awards align with those offered by the Canadian Medical Association. The SMA is hopeful that these local awards will inspire submissions at the national level.

Physician Leader of the Year Parameters
Physician Leader of the Year Nomination Form

Resident Leader of the Year Parameters
Resident Leader of the Year Nomination Form

Student Leader of the Year Parameters
Student Leader of the Year Nomination Form

The awards are anticipated to be presented at the 2020 Fall Representative Assembly pending public health guidelines at the time. Winners receive public recognition and a complimentary, one-year membership in the Canadian Society of Physician Leaders.



<< Back